Takbong SanLo Fun Run

For the second time, San Lorenzo Ruiz Center of Studies and Schools held its Takbong Sanlo Fun Run 2014 on March 16, 2014.

The Fun Run was participated in by alumni, students, parents, teachers and staff, amateur and professional runners, health enthusiasts and spectators of all ages who registered for the 3 kilometer, 5 kilometer and 10 kilometer run. The participants for the 3k received a green ribbon, 5k participants red ribbon and blue ribbon for the participants of 10k to symbolize that they have finished the race.

At five o’clock in the morning, the participants gathered at the SLR’s Covered Court. The Fun Run started with an Opening Prayer, followed by the welcome remarks of Dr. Lourdes M. Javier, the School Head. Ms. Anele David of the City Environment and Natural Resources Officer, gave a short message underscoring the need to avert clmate change. Mr. Earl Tongol, President of the Alumni Association, informed the participants the route of the Fun Run. A 15-minute Zumba was held as a warm-up exercise.

At around 6 o’clock in the morning, the run began. Three water stations were assigned to keep the participants refreshed and a medical team was also there to assure their safety; likewise, the Traffic Management of the CDRRMO Division.

The Takbong SanLo ended with the awarding of winners for the Early Bird, 3k, 5k and 10k winners which are as follows:

Early Bird: Mr. Jai De Jesus
3 Kilometer Run: Nestor Gapuz (1st Place); John Edward Semion (2nd Place); Elmer John Cabangon (3rd Place);
5 Kilometer Run: Michael Canlas (1st Place); Mark Joseph Suba (2nd Place): Edrick Roie Garcia (3rd Place);
10 Kilometer Run: Josue Lapresa. (1st Place); Redentor Salas (2nd Place); Cris Coronel (3rd Place)

A Certificate of Completion and a souvenir bracelet was given to each runner.

Angeles Sporting Goods, Globe, Diwa, Pagoda Philippines, Chic Centre Corporation, Energen, Pocari Sweat, Mc Donalds and Mr. Philip Go are among the sponsors who supported the event.

This Fun Run was covered by CLTV 36, the official media partner of SLR.

Students Elect Supreme Gov't Leaders 2014-2015

SLRians voted for their new sets of Children and Student Council Officers for the school year 2014-2015.

On March 11, 2014, the election for the Supreme Student Government of the High School was held. Two parties namely KISSES and BOOST were vying for positions. They worked hard to prove that they deserve to be the next set of officers.

Each party presented its plans/projects in a meeting de avance held on March 17, 2014 at the SLR Covered Court. They captivated the audience with their different gimmicks and eloquent speeches.

The high school students casted their votes on March 19. The new set of SC officers are as follows: President: Rona Eisel E. Deraco; V-President: Kate Valerie E. Aquino; Secretary: Stefanie Janne Chelsea C. Galang; Treasurer: Hannah Jesiah D. Macam; Auditor: Juan Gabrielle J. Figueroa; PRO: Ronalei Keyna E. Deraco; Representatives: Gr. 8: Joane Victoria Y. Guevarra; Gr. 9: Jenieve N. Dominguez; 4th Year : Joshua Ryan D. Nuqui.

In the Grade School , also, two parties competed; the Royal Crystal Party and Top Party. They had their room-to-room campaign in the morning of March 21. On March 24, they presented their platforms and projects in a meeting de avance.

The new set of CC Officers was announced after the election on March 25, 2014. They are as follows: President: Bea Kathleen M. Cuellar; V-President: Allyza Nicole D. Aguila; Secretary: Kyla Marie E. Aquino; Treasurer: Louis David E. Rances; Auditor: Ainsley Jia Marie D. Mercado; PRO: Edwin Anjelo S. Supan; Representatives: Gr. 3 : Ma. Faith Danielle B. Suba; Gr. 4: Jaecob Julien M. Galang; Gr. 5: Gian Niño P. Sawal; Gr. 6: Ajjima Lyn C. Paras.

SLRians Bag Awards in the UP Aguman Sining 2014

CARPE DIEM: Seize the Day with Passion was the theme of the UP Aguman Sining 2014 held on February 1 and 8, 2014.

Yearly, SLRians join UP Aguman which includes varied contests such as Impromtu Speech, Declamation, Essay Writing, Dance Competition, Crissotan, Junk Art, Solo Singing, Rockoustic Band, etc.

On the first day, February 1, 2014, competitions on Poetry Writing, Essay Writing, Impromptu Speech, Crissotan, Declamation, Music Art Illustration, Still-Life Drawing and Short Film was held. at Brightwoods School, Angleles.

On the second day, the competitions were held at Marquee Mall Activity Center. It includes Solo Singing, A Capella, Modern Street Dance, Rockoustic Band and Junk-Art Fashion Show. In the Awarding Ceremony, SLRians bagged different awards some of which are:

•Josan Stephen Flores (1st Place - Impromptu Speech in Filipino)
•Rona Eisel E. Deraco (2nd Place - Declamation Contest)
•Selected IV –Dignity students (1st Place – Short Film Making); Darlene De Leon, Nikka A. LIngat, Louisse Angela Reyes and Airys Jann Dorling ( 2nd Place – Junk- Art Fashion Show); Chelsea Galang (3rd Place - Essay Writing in Kapampangan).

San Lorenzo Ruiz Center of Studies and Schools was also awarded as 2nd Place Over-All Champion.

All winners took home certificates and trophies as prizes for joining the said events.